Blog Manifesto:

I am not a blogger by nature. I am a storyteller, a writer. I am a creative problem solver, an idea man. I am looking to be an ad-writer, a Mad Man. When I met with a freelance copywriter a few weeks ago he told me that the first thing he did when I contacted him was google my name. He was not impressed. I showed him my portfolio when we finally met in person. He said from what I gave him he could tell that I could write, but ‘ability’ wasn’t enough. It was then that I learned how companies aren’t hiring creative talent these days. That if I wanted to earn money writing advertisements I would have to work freelance. And if I wanted people to hire me I would need to create a stronger online presence. That means boosting my Linkedin profile, that means tweeting, being active on Facebook. Having the internet be my business card.

This created an interesting scenario. I wanted to create a showcase for my writing. And the only way to make this an effective showcase is by, well, writing. Just me and my keyboard, together, in a public forum, with no guidelines or instructions… so what to do in a blog?
I’m not creating this blog as a means to express my views, though I may do just that. I can’t promise that you’ll be entertained, though you may be nonetheless. This blog is not exclusively about me being an unemployed, single, tradition practicing Jewish 20 something in NYC. The agenda of this here blog is to be that showcase, for whatever writing I can do.

Here you have it, you lucky readers, a place where I will share with the public all the ridiculous crap that happens to me throughout the week. All the mundane, awkward, insightful, meaningful, trivial, hilarious, absurdity that is my life.
If nothing else, the blog is something to spend time on, and isn’t that what the internet is all about?

5 Comments

Filed under This Is Dov

5 responses to “Blog Manifesto:

  1. Good luck and stick with it!

  2. Pingback: Declassified Files From D | This Way To Dov

  3. Pingback: Declassified: From The Files Of D | This Way To Dov

  4. Pingback: Lost In The Park: The Pleasures Of Unemployment | This Way To Dov

Reply